Chrysocolla

 Chrysocolla    

 
 the cave carries the memory of summer
 calm waters amber sun
 
 
 the weight of quiet seas  
 and I am there again swimming
 
 
 leaving behind the warmth of Mallard’s wing
 diving deeper into the ebony edge
 
 
 sun blind I trust salt  
 swim until skin dissolves into turquoise
 
 
 turn then face the cove of sun
 re-emerge out of dark cave heart
 
 
 shimmy back to shore
 shingle heavy I land
 
 
 stumble over pebbles of serpentine
 the beach over crowded with others
 
 
 I close my eyes to their clatter
 carry armfuls of sea threads home
 
 
 weave the silent space between earth and water
 a sea field of summer  
 
 
 wrap my bones against long winter
 when sea claims her waters as her own 


                                           Rosie Hadden 03/01/2021

This entry was posted in FPG 2020 poetry pamphlet. Bookmark the permalink.